29.8 C
July 18, 2019
PSL (2019)
Blog Video

The Details of PSL Draft 2018

PSL 2019 Draft

Pakistan Super League decides the cricketers, and they will participate in the tournament from which team. Last year, the Multan Sultan participated for the first time in the league. Experienced cricketer Shoaib Malik led the team. Now, it isn’t the part of PSL, beacuse of, the inability of the owner to pay a fee to Pakistan Cricket Board. The sixth team still part in the league but the owners are not found yet.

The Pakistan Cricket Board divided all the players into six categories (enlisted to be the part of PSL).  The fees which players collect on the base of experience make the difference.

Players in a platinum category can be offered a maximum price of $250,000. The Diamond and Gold categories are close to each other. Silver, emerging and supplementary are the remaining categories at different rates. Each team can buy two players with price $12,000 and $13,000 respectively.

Pakistan Cricket Board altered the rules to make competition interesting. Each team is allowed to retain ten players and release the remaining player for the draft. On November 13th, teams told PCB about their retained players. Remaining players are drafted in the Pakistan Super League 2019 Draft.

Categories and their value

Platinum ($570,000): Teams can have three players (two local and foreigners). The prize is $160,000 to $250,000.

Diamond (270,000): Teams can have 3 players and prize starts from $80,000 to $100,000.

Gold (180,000): The team can pay three players to form $50,000 to $70,000.

Silver ($140,000): With prize $24,000-$40,000, teams can have a maximum of five players.

Emerging ($25,000): Two players can be in with the prize of $12,000 and $13,000 respectively.

Supplement ($175,000): The category doesn’t have any specific payroll. Teams can pick a maximum of four players from the wallet of $175,000

Player’s Draft Categories

The following is the division of the players and their respective categories:

Platinum Category Pakistan Players: Misbahul Haq, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Aamir, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Hassan Ali and Sarfraz Ahmed.

Platinum Category Overseas Players: AB de Villiers, Steve Smith, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Imran Tahir, Colin Ingram, Mitchell McClenaghan, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, and Shane Watson.

Diamond Category Players: Rumman Raees, Mohammad Sami, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Yasir Shah, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, and Asif Ali.

Gold Category Players: Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Rizwan, Khurram Manzoor, Mukhtar Ahmed, Zulfiqar Babar, Bilal Asif, Sohail Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Aamir Yamin, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Umar Gul, Shoaib Maqsood, Shan Masood, Mohammad Asghar, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Anwar Ali, Umar Amin.

Silver Category Players: Amad Butt, Ifthikar Ahmed, Zafar Gohar, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hasan, Waqas Maqsood, Usama Mir, Mohammad Irfan Jr., Saifullah Bangash, Tabish Khan, Danish Aziz, Raza Hasan, Sohail Akhtar, Gulraiz Sadaf, Agha Salman, Salman Irshad, Imran Khan Jr., Mohammad Abbas, Kashif Bhatti, Saif Badar, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Umer Siddiq, Hammad Azam, Umaid Asif, Taimoor Sultan, Saad Nasim, Kushdil Shah, Khalid Usman, Rameez Raja Jr., Saad Ali, Mir Hamza, Hassan Khan, Saud Shakeel, and Faraz Ahmad Khan.

Emerging Players: Mohammad Husnain, Rohail Nazir, Hasan Mohsin, Mohammad Taha, Mushtaq Ahmed Kalhoro, Ghulam Mudassar, Abdullah Shafique, Sameen Gul, Ibtisam Sheikh, Mohammad Arif, Mohammad Junaid, and Mohammad Azam Khan.

Islamabad United

Islamabad United is the winner of the first and third season of PSL.  The franchised released the Ex-Captain Misbah UL Haq, JP Duminy, Samuel Badree and Alex Hales.

Retained PlayersReleased Players
Shadab KhanAndre Russell
Luke RonchiMisbah-ul-Haq
Faheem AshrafSamuel Badree
Mohammad SamiIftikhar Ahmed
Asif AliAmad Butt
Rumman RaeesJP Duminy
Hussain TalatSam Billings
Sahibzada FarhanAlex Hales
Zafar GoharDavid Willey
Waqas MaqsoodMohammad Hasan
Mohammad Hasnain

Karachi Kings


The franchise released Shahid Afridi, Luke Wright, and Khurram Manzoor.


Muhammad Amir remained their Platinum pick along with Babar Azam. Furthurore,  Ravi Bopara and Imad Wasim are in this list.

Quetta Gladiators


The franchise released Kevin Pieterson, Ben Laughlin, and Asad Shafiq.


Sarfaraz Ahmed (Current Pakistani captain)

Shane Watson

Muhammad Nawaz

Rilie Russow

Peshawar Zalmi


Bangladeshi players – Tamim Iqbal and Shakib UL Hasan.

Muhammad Hafeez and Haris Sohail.


The soul of the team- Darren Sammy

Hasan Ali

Wahab Riaz

Liam Dawson

Lahore Qalandars

The franchise unluckily released Brendon McCullum and kept Yasir Shah.

The sixth team

Released:  Kumar Sangakkara, Keiron Pollard, and Shoaib Maqsood

Retained: Shoaib Malik, Junaid Khan, and Muhammad Irfan.

Teams and Captains


TeamsCaptained By
Karachi KingsImad Wasim
Lahore QalandarsMohammad Hafeez
Peshawar ZalmiDarren Sammy
Quetta GladiatorsSarfraz Ahmed
Islamabad UnitedLuke Ronchi
Sixth TeamShoaib Malik


Related posts

Islamabad United VS Quetta Gladiators | PSL 2019

By Psl Staff

Quetta Gladiators vs. Lahore Qalandars | PSL 2019

Usama Chaudhry

The Sensational Experience of Commentators and analysts

By Psl Staff

Leave a Comment